Model assessment · CRAFTSMAN

CRAFTSMAN CMCS340B V20 RP brushless compact reciprocating saw (tool only) review

A compact, one-handed V20 brushless saw with a 3/4-inch stroke, pivoting shoe, LED and two included wood blades; its exact page excludes battery and charger.

Sources checked 2026-11-02 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Red-and-black CRAFTSMAN CMCS340B compact reciprocating saw body with a blade and no attached battery, shown on a transparent background.
Exact CRAFTSMAN CMCS340B saw image; written page lists two wood blades and no battery or charger. CRAFTSMAN product image
A useful fit for

A CRAFTSMAN V20 owner who wants the documented compact one-handed form can assess this brushless bare tool for close-space pruning or repair cuts, with a 3/4-inch stroke, pivoting shoe, tool-free blade release and work light.

The main tradeoff

Battery and charger are separate. The page's 3.2-pound and 3.88-pound assembled-weight statements conflict, so no bare-tool weight is used for matching; its 12.75-inch front-to-back and 13.86-inch assembled-length values also differ. Orbital action and indexed shoe positions are not documented.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does CMCS340B arrive with a battery and charger?

No. The exact CMCS340B page calls it tool-only, says the battery and charger are sold separately, and lists the saw with two wood-cutting blades. Budget for the correct CRAFTSMAN V20 battery and charger if they are not already available.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the CMCS340B intended as a one-handed compact reciprocating saw?

CRAFTSMAN's exact page says the 3.2-pound design is light enough for one-handed use. The model-matched CMCS340 manual permits a main-handle grip with the other hand held away from cutting action when the workpiece is clamped. Use that prescribed hand position and keep both hands clear of the blade and clamp.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can CMCS340B be confirmed under a 3.5-pound bare-tool limit?

Not from the exact page as currently published. Marketing feature text says 3.2 lb, but the page's separate structured Assembled Product Weight field says 3.88 lb; neither explains the measurement basis. The reviewed fact therefore leaves bare-tool weight unknown and the strict numeric finder will not count it as meeting that limit.

Explore this need in the finder →

What this V20 compact saw is for

The CRAFTSMAN CMCS340B is a separate brushless, cordless reciprocating saw, not a kit version of the brushed CMCS300. Its exact U.S. page calls the design compact and light enough for one-handed use, and lists a 3/4-inch stroke with a maximum 2,800 SPM. Those details point toward controlled pruning and repair cuts where a smaller head and one-handed handling are useful. The page does not state a branch diameter or a rated cutting capacity, so the speed and marketing descriptions should not be turned into a promise about how quickly it will clear a particular limb or demolition job.

CRAFTSMAN describes the brushless motor as providing up to 40% more power than its brushed CMCS300, measured in unit watts out with a CMCB202 2.0Ah battery sold separately. That is a manufacturer comparison with a stated test condition, not an independent cutting trial or a guarantee of equal improvement in every material. The more practical distinction is format: CMCS340B is explicitly the light compact one-handed model, while the CMCS300 manual identifies two-hand operation. The larger CMCS351B uses two hands and adds a low/high selector; it is the better starting point when that grip and selectable speed range matter more than compact one-handed access.

Blade control and work support

The CMCS340B combines a variable-speed trigger, a pivoting shoe, an LED work light and a tool-free blade release. Its manual shows the blade collar rotated fully open for a change, then released after the blade is seated; it recommends a gentle tug to confirm the blade is held. That is a useful convenience over a clamp requiring a separate tool, but it does not remove the need to stop the saw and remove its battery before adjustment. The manual says the blade must extend beyond both the shoe and the workpiece throughout the cut, and it warns against using jigsaw blades in this saw.

Two wood-cutting blades are listed in the box. The exact page does not identify their length or tooth count, so a buyer planning metal, PVC or pruning should select a blade appropriate to that material and verify its fit rather than assuming the included pair covers every task. The manual advises clamping or otherwise securing material before cutting, keeping the shoe against the work when possible, and keeping hands out of the blade path. Its proper-hand-position instructions allow the other hand to remain away from cutting action when the work is clamped; the “one-handed” label is not permission to hold loose stock or reach under a cut.

Battery and package arithmetic

This CMCS340B SKU is tool-only. The written Includes list names the saw and two wood blades, while the page says battery and charger are sold separately. It belongs to CRAFTSMAN V20, whose 20V MAX marking is a maximum initial voltage and whose nominal voltage is 18V. Check the label on the exact battery and charger already in your workshop; a voltage name that looks similar is not evidence of cross-platform compatibility. Do not count this package as ready to run unless a compatible pack and charger are already on hand or included in a separate purchase.

There is a documentation wrinkle for carrying weight and fit: the same product page's feature copy says 3.2 lb and 12.75 inches front to back, but its structured specification lists 3.88 lb assembled product weight and 13.86 inches assembled length. The source does not explain those different bases or measurement points. This assessment preserves both page values and does not use either as a resolved bare-tool weight. Accordingly, a shopper with a hard weight ceiling should not rely on the attractive lower number without asking CRAFTSMAN to clarify which value applies. The page does not state indexed shoe positions or selectable orbital action; unknown does not mean those features are proven absent, but neither is a supported reason to choose this saw.

Who should compare it—and what to verify

CMCS340B makes the most sense to compare when the V20 battery ecosystem is already part of the plan and the compact one-handed format is the priority. Its 3/4-inch stroke is shorter than the one-inch figure CRAFTSMAN gives for the CMCS300, while the smaller model is brushless and lists a work light and pivoting shoe. These are specification differences, not an observed ranking. If the job calls for more sustained two-handed control, the CMCS351B has a secondary grip, a two-speed selector and a separately stated 4.0Ah-or-larger battery recommendation; if the package must include power, compare exact kit SKUs instead of treating the CMCS340B -B box as a battery bundle.

Before buying, confirm the complete model code, the included blade count and type, and the right V20 battery and charger for your setup. Resolve the page's conflicting weight and length entries if either affects a strict fit limit. Check the manual for blade installation, workpiece support and battery removal before service. CRAFTSMAN lists a three-year limited warranty, but coverage terms and service requirements should be verified from the maker's current warranty information. This is a source-based assessment of published documentation; the saw has not been physically handled or tested here, and no cutting speed, runtime, price or current availability is claimed.

Sources checked 2026-11-02: CRAFTSMAN CMCS340B U.S. product page and its directly linked CMCS340 instruction manual, NA115262.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Saw formatCompact, one-handed saw
Power sourceCordless battery
Battery platformCRAFTSMAN V20
Motor typeBrushless
Stroke length0.75 in
No-load stroke rate2800 SPM
Tool-free blade changeYes
Work lightYes
Trigger lock-on switchNo
Battery in this packageNo
Charger in this packageNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Match the saw to your actual work.

Use the finder to compare verified requirements, then read each exact model assessment before deciding.

In this review