Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What does the DCS382B package include, and how does it differ from DCS382H1?
The exact DCS382B page lists one DCS382 saw and one blade, with battery and charger sold separately. The separate H1 kit page lists a DCBP520 5.0Ah POWERSTACK battery, DCB1106 charger, blade and bag. The tools share the documented DCS382 design, but the B and H1 package suffixes are not interchangeable.
Explore this need in the finder →Does DCS382B have orbital cutting action?
The exact B page documents a pivoting shoe and twist-style keyless blade clamp, but it does not state selectable orbital action. Shoe movement and orbital blade motion are different features, so the orbital requirement remains unverified and does not match this record.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the listed DCS382B weight and length satisfy strict bare-tool limits?
No. The exact page structured data reports 5.55 lb assembled-product weight and 16.27 inches assembled-product length; it does not separately state bare-tool weight or body length. The finder therefore treats the bare-tool weight as unknown instead of using those broader product values.
Explore this need in the finder →Brushless 20V MAX saw in the tool-only package
The DCS382B is DEWALT’s 20V MAX XR brushless reciprocating saw sold as a tool-only configuration. The exact U.S. page’s in-box list names one DCS382 saw and one blade, and it says the battery and charger are sold separately. That distinguishes B from the DCS382H1 package, which separately lists a DCBP520 5.0Ah POWERSTACK battery, DCB1106 charger, blade and bag. The saw design belongs to the same DCS382 family, but package contents follow the SKU: a picture or another suffix is not proof that a B offer includes the H1 battery or bag.
DEWALT describes the B as a 20V MAX XR brushless saw with a 1-1/8-inch stroke, a two-finger variable-speed trigger, a twist-style keyless clamp, an LED and a pivoting shoe. The page describes a compact-size build for maneuverability and calls the 20V MAX battery/charger system compatible with the tool; FLEXVOLT packs are also listed as compatible for this 20V saw. The exact DCS382 manual specifies a firm two-handed grip for cutting. Compact dimensions and a maneuverability claim do not change that handling instruction.
Clamp and shoe are separate controls
The twist-style keyless clamp opens to release or seat a blade, while the pivoting shoe can maintain contact as the saw moves through a cut. Those are useful but distinct functions. The page does not state selectable orbital action, so a pivot shoe should not be treated as proof of an orbital cutting mode. It also provides no maximum no-load SPM figure for DCS382B; compare the stated stroke and mechanism, not an assumed speed ranking against models whose listings do give SPM.
The manual says to choose the shortest blade suited to the stock while making sure the blade extends beyond the pivoting shoe and workpiece for the whole cut. It says not to use jigsaw blades. The page’s included blade is a starting component, not necessarily the right tooth pattern or reach for every cut. Inspect the stock for concealed wiring, pipes or other services, secure it to a stable support, and keep the saw firmly held with both hands. Remove the battery before changing the blade or adjusting the tool; use the lock-off button for carrying or storage.
Keep assembly measurements separate from bare-tool fit
The manufacturer page’s structured data gives 5.55 pounds as assembled-product weight and 16.27 inches as assembled-product length. It does not state a separate bare-tool weight or saw-body length. Those distinctions remain important even though the B package excludes the battery: the assembled weight may include the listed blade or another product configuration, and the assembled length should not be interpreted as a measured access envelope. As a result, a numeric finder condition for maximum bare-tool weight remains unknown for this model rather than passing at an assumed 5.55 pounds.
The same caution applies to performance. A brushless motor and a 1-1/8-inch stroke are catalog facts, not a measured cut rate or runtime. Material, blade tooth pattern, battery capacity, stock support and technique change the workload. No source-reviewed cut-capacity chart or orbital claim was found on the exact B page, so this assessment does not fill those gaps with specifications from another reciprocating saw.
Where this configuration makes sense
DCS382B is worth comparing when you already have a compatible DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger, want the brushless DCS382 saw, and do not need the H1 kit’s additional battery, charger and bag. If a complete kit is the priority, compare the exact H1 package instead. If a strict bare-tool weight ceiling or verified orbital mode is essential, the available B page does not establish either and should not be treated as a confirmed match. Before purchase, recheck the DCS382B suffix, what the seller includes, the battery model and the blade you need; then follow the manual’s two-handed grip, workpiece-support and blade-reach guidance. This is a source-based review, not a hands-on test.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Saw format | Compact-bodied, two-handed saw |
|---|---|
| Power source | Cordless battery |
| Battery platform | DEWALT 20V MAX |
| Motor type | Brushless |
| Stroke length | 1.12 in |
| Tool-free blade change | Yes |
| Work light | Yes |
| Trigger lock-on switch | No |
| Battery in this package | No |
| Charger in this package | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Match the saw to your actual work.
Use the finder to compare verified requirements, then read each exact model assessment before deciding.
